Jump to content

Low Quality Config


239 replies to this topic

#1
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11
Dropbox Download: APB-Low-Quality.zip Working

Dropbox Download: Super Low Quality Working

Be sure to run apb from the binaries folder!

There are 3 different configs:
  • Low Quality With Shadows
  • Low Quality Without Shadows
  • Super Low Quality

Low Quality With Shadows Compat changes:
  • Removed world graffiti
  • Lowerd texture quality
  • Blurred textures
  • Changed the distance vehicles switch quality to 10m
  • Vehicles switch to even lower quality at 20m
  • Enabled texture compression
  • Lowered texture creation per frame from 10 to 2
  • Lowered Particles from 500000 to 5000
Screenshot:
Spoiler

Low Quality Without Shadows Compat changes:
  • All above and removed shadows
Screenshot:
Spoiler

Super Low Quality Compat changes:
  • Lowered texture quality even more
  • Lowered Particles from 5000 to .1
Screenshot:
Spoiler

Get shader Crosshair Here

If you wish to change the particles to your liking open the file and search for "ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=" and change the value 500000.0 is the stock value, 5000.0 or 1000.0 are nice values to use that balance out well, 0.1 is pretty much as low as you can go and 0.0 seems to be an infinite amount.


Thanks to: Ignoramus & eXezon for testing and handwasher for ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea info

Other confings in this thread!

Luminesca's Config Not working
http://forums.gamers...ost__p__3086774

GloweN's Config Not Working
http://forums.gamers...ost__p__3091237

hcs999 Config.zip <----Popular Updated 1.12
http://forums.gamers...ost__p__3101208

Yuma Config.zip Not Working
http://forums.gamers...ost__p__3125343

legality:
Spoiler

Edit 1: Updated download and info with new ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea. Thanks to handwasher
Edit 2: Added other configs made for people in this thread!
Edit 3: Updated hcs999 Config to work with 1.12 also cleaned up shadows a bit and other minor changes.
Edit 4: Updated Super Low Quality

Edited by USPStyle, 02 September 2013 - 09:04 PM.

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#2
AdmiralDeath

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1740 posts
  • Joined 10-June 12

View PostUSPStyle, on 18 February 2013 - 11:39 PM, said:

-snip-

Thank you for the effort, highly appreciated.

#3
LUST

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4998 posts
  • Joined 27-February 11

View PostUSPStyle, on 18 February 2013 - 11:39 PM, said:

Spoiler

What game is that?

#4
Spiders

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1472 posts
  • Joined 23-June 11
Love it, thanks from all the African American people out there.

Spiders | Towelsie

EU2 - #FixTheServers


#5
Jota CL

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 703 posts
  • Joined 24-April 11
This plus lowering everything to perfomance on videocard control panel = 100 FPS everywhere. (Excluding explosions/tommyguns/anythingelsethatprovokeshighresparticles)

Posted Image

Jota - Colby


#6
greenfield

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1002 posts
  • Joined 18-March 12
thx, i know few people that were looking for a low quality config. +1

#7
Spiders

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1472 posts
  • Joined 23-June 11
The quality kind of makes your eyes bleed at first but you get used to it - If you do try out this config, I recommend using http://forums.gamers...ng-crap-config/ too

Spiders | Towelsie

EU2 - #FixTheServers


#8
Shrub

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
  • Joined 08-July 12
This config is really good :P The spikes aren't as bad and the minimum fps I get now is about 65+ as opposed to 45+.
This game used to never falter and now it runs like utter crap without this config.

Edited by Ignoramus/Shrub, 19 February 2013 - 07:48 AM.

Posted Image - Shrub / Shrubling
Posted Image - Ignoramus / Shrubbery

Inactive indefinitely, no explanation is necessary but if you're confused I'll tell you anyway: this game is in a dire state.

#9
LilyV3

    Unreal

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13975 posts
  • Joined 21-August 12
god, noooo pls nooooo my eyes x.x next pls get rid of all animations like the one guys shaders. No pls no.
If I need to adjust a game to look like this, to proper paly it, I would prefer to quit it.

I mean if APB would be that uper awesome mega shooter competetitive world No.1st Game where beeing good is something ultracool, then maybe I would undertsand it. But actually, you ripeed of all cool stuff from APB for some fps -.-

Well, nice for all that now "enjoy" what is left from APB.

Edited by LilyV3, 19 February 2013 - 08:11 AM.

Posted Image
Who is Lily and Honey Lily (ღ˘⌣˘ღ) ♫・*:.。. .。.:*
Check out her Music (different genres): Lily Lily - Burning Night Scarlet Rose Dead End
百合の咲く丘で Sacrifice

#10
ohmywhatsthis

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3762 posts
  • Joined 17-September 11
Maybe I should sell schematics to my computer setup because I still run APB rock solid at 60fps at full details.
Posted Image

#11
Saikozou

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 787 posts
  • Joined 22-November 11
I must combine this with the low quality shaders I use and see what horrificness (and amazing FPS) occurs o:

Edited by Saikozou, 19 February 2013 - 10:51 AM.

Posted Image
[Saikozou | EverFlow | **?**] Joker NA East
http://bit.ly/APBVote | http://bit.ly/APBMissions


#12
Revoluzzer

    Signature Monkey

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14430 posts
  • Joined 29-April 09

View Postohmywhatsthis, on 19 February 2013 - 08:15 AM, said:

Maybe I should sell schematics to my computer setup because I still run APB rock solid at 60fps at full details.
Running from 70 to 100 at any given time, here. Haven't changed a thing since APB:R started.

Posted Image

APB VETERAN BETA TESTER // HEAVY HITTERS GROUP // APB:R CLOSED BETA TESTER // THREAT & MATCHMAKING

#13
Skullriot

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4685 posts
  • Joined 03-October 12
I understand why these exist, and thanks for it, but dang, how can you call it a game without pretty graphics? lol.

Joker: Tonks, Nymphadora
Joker Coins
- Lets try to get G1st to make JMBs better!


#14
Shrub

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
  • Joined 08-July 12

View PostRiel, on 19 February 2013 - 12:52 PM, said:

I understand why these exist, and thanks for it, but dang, how can you call it a game without pretty graphics? lol.

Once, a long long time ago, I had both high fps and nice pretty graphics. I just bite the bullet and pretend it's all nice and pretty. At least I can play properly again. None of this sub-60 fps horrible stuff.
Posted Image - Shrub / Shrubling
Posted Image - Ignoramus / Shrubbery

Inactive indefinitely, no explanation is necessary but if you're confused I'll tell you anyway: this game is in a dire state.

#15
eXezon

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Joined 01-April 11
i've been testing this config for a while, and i can say that is a very good config, unfortunately in last patch g1 disabled some values and it cant give even more FPS

Edited by eXezon, 19 February 2013 - 02:25 PM.


#16
dreamss

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4861 posts
  • Joined 16-November 10
wish you gave me a headsup when you make new stuff, for linking porpuses

Also Known as Bigus Dickus

"Hello, gentlemen. I have come to take your lives" - 110000+ kills. - "GETTINGZ DOSSED IN 2013 (is that even a thing nowdays?)"


#17
Shrub

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1968 posts
  • Joined 08-July 12
bump
Posted Image - Shrub / Shrubling
Posted Image - Ignoramus / Shrubbery

Inactive indefinitely, no explanation is necessary but if you're confused I'll tell you anyway: this game is in a dire state.

#18
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12
-snip-

also for any one interested in reducing the massively inefficient particles then you can tweak with ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0

if you set it too low for example 000001.0 it will disable blood impacts entirely (bad) if it's set at 005000.0 minor impacts enabled without the spammy lag, can be tested on NPC contacts using a shotgun and zoomed in and spam clicking, other testable items would obviously be explosions and fire extinguishers... I'll play around with it some more, will report back if I find a better number, at the moment 5000 doesn't show cars smoking but it does show fire.

So far a mostly solid 62 fps besides explosions, thankfully due to the particle tweak I mentioned about particlemaxworldspacearea tone it down to whatever level you want, it should help a lot with explosions or lag cannons that spam blood impacts. (no grenade and explosions cannot be disabled period, if you set it as low as 1.0 you remove your blood impacts even at that level explosions don't stop, for the record it doesn't work at 000000.0)

Edited by handwasher, 23 February 2013 - 04:48 PM.


#19
Jentle

    Elite

  • San Paro City Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 1070 posts
  • Joined 02-May 12

View Posthandwasher, on 22 February 2013 - 06:00 PM, said:

on the super low quality variant you've reduced something so much that I no longer have a health hud, I can't tell when I'm hurt, I have to listen for heart beats.

I thought it only affects 3D textures? The tint you get from getting hurt isn't 3D is it? Posted Image

"The greatest handicap is not that of the body, but of the mind"

Jenney | iJenney | StickEm | Jentle



Posted ImageStream:Jenneystick


#20
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11

View Posthandwasher, on 22 February 2013 - 06:00 PM, said:

Super Low Quality has VFX set to low, you can't see your health hud if it is set at zero, so change it to the following:

TEXCAT_VFX=(Usage=0,MinLODSize=1,MaxLODSize=1,LODBias=5,DisableStreaming=False,FairUsagePriority=10)
TEXCAT_VFX=(Usage=1,MinLODSize=1,MaxLODSize=1,LODBias=5,DisableStreaming=False,FairUsagePriority=10)

also for any one interested in reducing the massively inefficient particles then you can tweak with ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0

if you set it too low for example 000001.0 it will disable blood impacts entirely (bad) if it's set at 001000.0 minor impacts enabled without the spammy lag, can be tested on NPC contacts using a shotgun and zoomed in and spam clicking, other testable items would obviously be explosions and fire extinguishers... I'll play around with it some more, will report back if I find a better number, at the moment 1000 doesn't show cars smoking.

So far a mostly solid 62 fps besides explosions, thankfully due to the particle tweak I mentioned about particlemaxworldspacearea tone it down to whatever level you want, it should help a lot with explosions or lag cannons that spam blood impacts. (no grenade and explosions cannot be disabled period, if you set it as low as 1.0 you remove your blood impacts even at that level explosions don't stop, for the record it doesn't work at 000000.0)
The TEXCAT_VFX doesn't affect the health hud RP set munimum values I believe from testing they are around MaxLODSize=16

The value that affects the HUD is LowQualityHealthHUD=True change that to False and it should fix the problem. As for the other value It was weird ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea on higher quality settings was 0.0 and on the lowest settings it was 500000.0 so I just stuck with that setting. :) Thanks for your input I'll do some testing and update it.

If you really really want to disable smoke and explosions then setting FloatingPointRenderTargets=True to false will do it however it disables some post processing and makes the game look like utter crap.
Example: http://www.twitch.tv...style/c/1954479

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#21
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12
-snip-

the particle quality being in reverse thing you're talking about is ParticleLODBias= it doesn't apply in reverse to this ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=

Edited by handwasher, 23 February 2013 - 04:57 PM.


#22
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11

View Posthandwasher, on 22 February 2013 - 07:03 PM, said:

I like that you think that health hud isn't related to VFX but as soon as I set the LOD to 1 it came back, it was DISABLED completely gone before setting it to 1, I reduced the particles immensely by setting it to 005000.0, I hate to tell you but someone coded the health hud overlay to VFX instead of UI. :troll_face: Obviously I don't want to disable explosions and particles, they're a requirement to tell if you've hit something and if something is blowing up or is going too.

Furthermore LowQualityHealthHud=True which I have used since playing to reduce fps drops when being shot reduces the layers from 6 to 3, because of this config and the particle tweak I mentioned I have been able to set that to false to actually get an accurate feeling of how hurt I am, originally before editing VFX and using your super low quality config that part of the UI was completely gone, nothing but heart beats, don't believe me? try it your self, VFX set to zero completely disables health hud overlay. Also you've got your particle values mixed up, the lower the number the less in game, 005000.0 works great.

LowQualityHealthHud=True is a cripple (listen for heart beats since only 3 blood overlays)
LowQualityHealthHud=False (as accurate as it gets, thanks to this config and the particle setting I can now use it again and not rage "I WAS ONE HIT BY A SNIPER!!!!!!"

the particle quality being in reverse thing you're talking about is ParticleLODBias= it doesn't apply in reverse to this one ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=

You can no longer completely disable textures RP made it that way recently cause of a bug that allowed you to see through some shop windows and could give an unfair advantage.
I have no idea why your HUD changed when you changed that setting in my testing it doesn't change it so it's not a matter of what I "think" its a matter of what I tested.

Retested for you :):
Configs setting 0 0 5:
Posted Image

Your TEXCAT setting 1 1 5:
Posted Image

LowQualityHealthHUD=False:
Posted Image

TEXCAT at stock value 1 4096 0 & LQHealthHUD=True:
Posted Image

Also if you open a stock APBCompat.ini Scroll down under [AppCompatBucket1] (quality slider moved all the way down) It shows ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0 and if you scroll down to [AppCompatBucket5] (quality slider moved all the way up) it shows ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=0.0 It also shows it on slider position 2,3,and 4 as 0.0. Now I'm not saying you are wrong since 0.0 could just mean that it allows an infinite amount as I stated earlier I just left the lowest quality value.

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#23
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostUSPStyle, on 22 February 2013 - 08:39 PM, said:

You can no longer completely disable textures RP made it that way recently cause of a bug that allowed you to see through some shop windows and could give an unfair advantage.
I have no idea why your HUD changed when you changed that setting in my testing it doesn't change it so it's not a matter of what I "think" its a matter of what I tested.

Retested for you :):
Configs setting 0 0 5:
Posted Image

Your TEXCAT setting 1 1 5:
Posted Image

LowQualityHealthHUD=False:
Posted Image

TEXCAT at stock value 1 4096 0 & LQHealthHUD=True:
Posted Image

Also if you open a stock APBCompat.ini Scroll down under [AppCompatBucket1] (quality slider moved all the way down) It shows ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0 and if you scroll down to [AppCompatBucket5] (quality slider moved all the way up) it shows ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=0.0 It also shows it on slider position 2,3,and 4 as 0.0. Now I'm not saying you are wrong since 0.0 could just mean that it allows an infinite amount as I stated earlier I just left the lowest quality value.

fortunately for you I'm a wizard and tested ParticleMaxWorldSpace= and 0.0 does equate to infinite particles.

I checked and rechecked the ui bug with the hp overlay it appears it was just an anomaly I have never seen before. I have never ever in my entire 1300 hours logged on the game seen the HP Blood Overlay disable its self entirely, first time for everything, huh? :CoolDaddio:

Edited by handwasher, 23 February 2013 - 05:00 PM.


#24
StiffeliciouS

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Joined 19-May 12
Hey man!

Been using a config which makes my FPS improve. But the problem with that config was that I couldnt see the activities and Bronze/Silver/Gold.

So basically when I press F6 a empty box shows up, is it like that on this config as well?

Regards

#25
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostStiffeliciouS, on 23 February 2013 - 09:43 AM, said:

Hey man!

Been using a config which makes my FPS improve. But the problem with that config was that I couldnt see the activities and Bronze/Silver/Gold.

So basically when I press F6 a empty box shows up, is it like that on this config as well?

Regards


I'm using the super low variant and haven't had the issue you are referring too, either way you should swap the config for the original and or restart the game to figure out if that's what is really causing it.

#26
Luminesca

    Banned

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Joined 31-July 12
Can you make a config that reduces the quality of the explosions and smoke (so the FPS doesn't go from 62 to 20), but keeps everything else pretty much the same. If needed, I can pay you for the effort.

#27
StiffeliciouS

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Joined 19-May 12
I tried your config, but it didnt change my FPS at all... So with and without the config I got the same fps :/

#28
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostLuminesca, on 23 February 2013 - 10:47 AM, said:

Can you make a config that reduces the quality of the explosions and smoke (so the FPS doesn't go from 62 to 20), but keeps everything else pretty much the same. If needed, I can pay you for the effort.

maybe you didn't read previous posts, ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0 change it to ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=005000.0 it will reduce the harmful effects of blood impacts and explosions without totally disabling them. :CoolDaddio:
I'll take my payment now. :troll_face: If you have a mommy pc more so than my mommy gt 9800 512mb you can set it to 000001.0 :pumpkin01: (be warned it will completely disable blood impacts at that level and you will have no idea if you are actually hitting/not hitting your enemy.) I recomend no lower than 001000.0

handjobber already contributing helpful content. :present:

View PostStiffeliciouS, on 23 February 2013 - 12:31 PM, said:

I tried your config, but it didnt change my FPS at all... So with and without the config I got the same fps :/

that doesn't make any logical sense, are you sure you are launching the game directly and not the launcher? apb launcher loves to override configs, have you checked to see if your computer is plugged in? :troll_face:

Edited by handwasher, 23 February 2013 - 05:04 PM.


#29
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11

View Posthandwasher, on 23 February 2013 - 04:50 PM, said:

ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0 change it to ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=005000.0 it will reduce the harmful effects of blood impacts and explosions without totally disabling them. :CoolDaddio:
I recomend no lower than 001000.0
Good info thanks for the heads up I'm going change it in the configs in a few minutes. :) going to probably use your values since you did the testing just want to test them myself first :)

Edit: Updated Download with new values

Edited by USPStyle, 23 February 2013 - 06:04 PM.

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#30
Luminesca

    Banned

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Joined 31-July 12
Changed it, walking close to explosions or especially burning wrecks still gets me 20-30 fps.
Geforce GT 650M with 2 GB of DDR3 video memory btw.

Edited by Luminesca, 23 February 2013 - 06:15 PM.


#31
Pond

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Joined 29-December 11

View Posthandwasher, on 22 February 2013 - 06:00 PM, said:

-snip-

also for any one interested in reducing the massively inefficient particles then you can tweak with ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=500000.0

if you set it too low for example 000001.0 it will disable blood impacts entirely (bad) if it's set at 005000.0 minor impacts enabled without the spammy lag, can be tested on NPC contacts using a shotgun and zoomed in and spam clicking, other testable items would obviously be explosions and fire extinguishers... I'll play around with it some more, will report back if I find a better number, at the moment 5000 doesn't show cars smoking but it does show fire.


Thanks for the tip. My friends are now able to go up against tommy users without the ability of stopping time. o:

HAN: Criminal - Pond / Enforcer - Tennant


Youtube: PondinthePuddle


#32
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostLuminesca, on 23 February 2013 - 05:56 PM, said:

Changed it, walking close to explosions or especially burning wrecks still gets me 20-30 fps.
Geforce GT 650M with 2 GB of DDR3 video memory btw.

primarily it helps reduce it, it will help especially with blood impacts from lag cannons, it helped improve my FPS around explosions but nothing can be done out side of turning off rendertarget which is more of a hindrance than help, take it or leave it, you can't turn poo to gold with a .ini explosions causing fps drops are pretty common for people regardless of the cards.
this setting helps me quite a bit with explosions but as I said, poo to gold doesn't work 100% it's more like a gold painted turd now.

If you're 100% desperate to disable explosions and particles period including screwing up the games contrast not knowing if your shots landed because no blood impacts and making the game look like 100% turd then use FloatingPointRenderTargets=False as USPStyle mentioned earlier.

View PostPond, on 23 February 2013 - 07:58 PM, said:

Thanks for the tip. My friends are now able to go up against tommy users without the ability of stopping time. o:

You are very welcome, you can thank USPStyle for the main config, though. :ninjakatana:

Also, if any one feels the need to customize vehicles or characters simply launch APB through the launcher, it will override the config and then you can go to social make your customizations close game and paste config back, rinse and repeat. :whip:

Also USPStyle you lowered your super low to .1? that will completely disable impacts, people will be unable to see if they are hitting or being hit, I suggest 1000. :nailbite:

Edited by handwasher, 23 February 2013 - 10:33 PM.


#33
Luminesca

    Banned

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 604 posts
  • Joined 31-July 12

View Posthandwasher, on 23 February 2013 - 09:43 PM, said:

primarily it helps reduce it, it will help especially with blood impacts from lag cannons, it helped improve my FPS around explosions but nothing can be done out side of turning off rendertarget which is more of a hindrance than help, take it or leave it, you can't turn poo to gold with a .ini explosions causing fps drops are pretty common for people regardless of the cards.
this setting helps me quite a bit with explosions but as I said, poo to gold doesn't work 100% it's more like a gold painted turd now.

If you're 100% desperate to disable explosions and particles period including screwing up the games contrast not knowing if your shots landed because no blood impacts and making the game look like 100% turd then use FloatingPointRenderTargets=False as USPStyle mentioned earlier.



You are very welcome, you can thank USPStyle for the main config, though. :ninjakatana:

Also, if any one feels the need to customize vehicles or characters simply launch APB through the launcher, it will override the config and then you can go to social make your customizations close game and paste config back, rinse and repeat. :whip:

Also USPStyle you lowered your super low to .1? that will completely disable impacts, people will be unable to see if they are hitting or being hit, I suggest 1000. :nailbite:
I heard the explosion lag has something gotta do with PyshX being run on CPU? Is it true?
Whole game lies on CPU shoulders, and if it has to render out the explosions and smoke particles it totally dies.
If there is no way to improve it, I guess I have to get the external GPU box or whatever it's called.
http://www.villagein...php?page=ViDock


Edited by Luminesca, 23 February 2013 - 11:20 PM.


#34
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostLuminesca, on 23 February 2013 - 11:17 PM, said:

I heard the explosion lag has something gotta do with PyshX being run on CPU? Is it true?
Whole game lies on CPU shoulders, and if it has to render out the explosions and smoke particles it totally dies.
If there is no way to improve it, I guess I have to get the external GPU box or whatever it's called.
http://www.villagein...php?page=ViDock

No, that's rubbish, even if physx was running strictly on your CPU that's not the problem, the problem is that the particle system is a heap of garbage and is far too "detailed" for modern GPU's, with default setting you take a shotgun to a contact and aim in and spam click it and watch your FPS decline as well as your GPU usage go sky high till it's maxed because it's rendering all of the particles being spammed. (the reason why lag cannons slow time is because of spammed blood impact particles, only a few guns work on contacts, I recommend testing with an NFAS-12) :beta: (not sure why particles get "fair usage" priority over everything else in the game but that's a whole other mommy, I'm pretty sure G1 has plans to adjust the particle system in the future, whenever that is.)

Edited by handwasher, 24 February 2013 - 10:56 PM.


#35
Jentle

    Elite

  • San Paro City Testers
  • PipPipPip
  • 1070 posts
  • Joined 02-May 12
Is it weird that I didn't notice any fps improvements with the low quality config w/ shadows Posted Image 30-60fps just like w/o this config.

"The greatest handicap is not that of the body, but of the mind"

Jenney | iJenney | StickEm | Jentle



Posted ImageStream:Jenneystick


#36
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostJenney, on 25 February 2013 - 06:45 AM, said:

Is it weird that I didn't notice any fps improvements with the low quality config w/ shadows Posted Image 30-60fps just like w/o this config.

so use the super low variant, you idgit, that's why it's there.

also USP you need to change your super low config's value for ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=000000.1 to 001000.0 nobody can see if they're actually hitting someone because there's no blood effects at 0.1, 0.1 is too extreme, any one who uses it should ramp it up to 001000.0 them selves because you will not be able to tell if you are hurting someone or not.

Edited by handwasher, 25 February 2013 - 08:28 AM.


#37
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11

View Posthandwasher, on 25 February 2013 - 08:22 AM, said:

so use the super low variant, you idgit, that's why it's there.

also USP you need to change your super low config's value for ParticleMaxWorldSpaceArea=000000.1 to 001000.0 nobody can see if they're actually hitting someone because there's no blood effects at 0.1, 0.1 is too extreme, any one who uses it should ramp it up to 001000.0 them selves because you will not be able to tell if you are hurting someone or not.
I was debating that I went with .1 since blood isn't an indication of hitting someone the hit markers are :) and those still show.

Edited by USPStyle, 27 February 2013 - 08:41 PM.

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#38
handwasher

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 871 posts
  • Joined 07-February 12

View PostUSPStyle, on 25 February 2013 - 08:33 AM, said:

I was debating that I went with .1 since blood isn't an indication of being hit the hit markers are :) and those are still show.

eh leave it to people to decide if they want to change it just put the line in the main post that way they can decide for 001000.0 or 000000.1

#39
USPStyle

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1669 posts
  • Joined 24-June 11

View Posthandwasher, on 27 February 2013 - 07:11 PM, said:

eh leave it to people to decide if they want to change it just put the line in the main post that way they can decide for 001000.0 or 000000.1
Wow I must have been really tired when I wrote that it barely made any sense lol. I took your suggestion and put the info on the first post.

Creator of the
Posted Image

GET IT HERE:Twitch.tv YouTube


#40
StiffeliciouS

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
  • Joined 19-May 12
So I went and bought a new graphicscard (GTX 660) very powerful!

But sometimes my FPS stays at 30-40 and sometimes its up at 70-100. How to I get it so its always on top?

Feels like the game is stopping my card to get up to 60, since even when im looking into a wall or in the sky, its still 30-40 FPS...



1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 GamersFirst.com, Reloaded Games, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.®