Jump to content

Photo

Game performance solution if you suddenly expecrience inconsistent shocking!

* * * * * 18 votes

  • Please log in to reply
126 replies to this topic

#1
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11
Hi,

I contacted support about it, but they couldn't do much for me, so I went at it myself and after a couples of days of agonizing and painstacking trials and errors, I found the solution.

This is what I did at first...

I have checked every possible setting in game and out of the game... tried low settings, different settings, even on the GPU software 3D settings, checked and doubled checked everything including Taskmanager Processes/Services/SourceControl.

Rerolled drivers, reinstalled the game mulitple times, repaired mulitples times, updated punkbuster manually, more checking, increased page file and checked if it's not maxed multiple times, even more checking, shut down overlays and recording software and unnecessary services.

Updated BIOS to the latest version, removed unnecessary programs, files, cleaned computer multiple times, ran all sorts of cleaning programs, antivirus scans, malware scans and registry fixes, disabled antivirus.

Also checked fragmentation of HD's, checked and tested HD's condition, standarized CPU/GPU/Memory, overclocked CPU/GPU/Memory, underclocked CPU/GPU/Memory, used only 4 cores instead of 6.

Disabled VivoxVoice Service, checked internet connection consistency, checked all the connections made to and from my computer and deleted/disabled any unnecessary connections and last but not least, tried running it via GamerFirst Live, instead of Steam.

After all this, the situation was still the same, but I just couldn't give in. So...

After more checking, switching to a blank O/S and comparing the difference, I realized the HD was making too much data transfer noise and after checking, it was constantly writing data around at about 2 MB/s, wich I saw earlier, but I thought it was ok at first, but thought to go deeper in it, now that I noticed a difference with the other O/S.

It turned out that the indexing service was constantly hogging all the data, minimizing potential use and maximizing heat generated of the HD, creating a slower performance.


To prevent this...

I have checked solutions on the interweb and found out, it could be easlily stopped...

Follow these steps in orderly manor:

1. Disable the index options of a HD (go to windows explorer, rightclick on the HD and click "properties" and in the pop up, deselect the option saying something like "Allow content and properties to be indexed".

Do this for all HD's in use. Note that this may take a while, depending on the size of the HD).

2. Then disable the Windows Search service by pressing CTRL-SHIFT-ESCAPE (Windows Task Manager will pop up). Go to the "Services" Tab and press the "Services" button in the lower right corner.

Then search for the "Window Search" service and disable the service first by going to properties (right click and select "properties" and another pop up will appear).

Then go to the dialog window that says "Start up typ:" and set in the drop down menu to "Disabled" and then stop the service manually (this way it will prevent the service from restarting).

3. I also recommend deleting the used file "windows.edb" in the root "Program Data" folder. (After showing "hidden files" in folder options, this will be available), as it is not needed anymore.

To do this, you will need to go to "Control Panel" and then select "Appearance and Themes".

Then in the "Folder options" menu hit the "Show hidden files" button and another pop up will appear.

Then scroll down in the dialogue menu to "Hidden Files and Folders" and select "Show hidden Files, folders and Drives".


You are now set for optimal performance in Windows!!!

It will have no effect on the operation of the O/S itself, except for searches, but there are alternative and faster ways to do a search in windows, so this feature of windows is kinda obsolete, especially when not using it much, but disabling it has sincerely upped the games performance (also for other games and in general the performance of Windows).


So I finally have found the problem on my system concerning the inconsistent shocking in the game.

I thought to share this with you guys, so you know what to do, if this problem occurs with your system.

Greetings,

A happy wappy E ^^


P.s.: This works for Win7, but should also work for XP & Vista. Also confirmed to work for Win8

Edited by MistahE, 27 November 2012 - 02:03 AM.


#2
fez

fez

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 456 posts
  • Joined 26-September 12
I knew about the windows search service, I already have it disabled. Now I also disabled the HD indexing. Will see how it works and edit my post. Thanks in advance. ;)

Edit: Works for me. I get a lot less freezing and hickups now. I also gained some FPS, 2-4 or so. Thanks MistahE! ;)

Edited by KRASTA, 25 November 2012 - 04:30 AM.


#3
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

I knew about the windows search service, I already have it disabled. Now I also disabled the HD indexing. Will see how it works and edit my post. Thanks in advance. ;)

Edit: Works for me. I get a lot less freezing and hickups now. Thanks MistahE! ;)


Your very welcome Krasta. Thanks for letting us know it works for you too :)

Edited by MistahE, 25 November 2012 - 11:22 AM.


#4
gotitdone

gotitdone

    aka Hoss

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17009 posts
  • Joined 11-June 08
Nice post.

For those that do try this please post your feedback.

Thanks Mistahe :hihi:

The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; the inherent virtue
of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries.- Winston Churchill


admin post tracker
How to submit a ticket
http://ffbans.org/

#5
Proadox

Proadox

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12
I get a crapload of lag spikes and stuttering on my game, which does indeed seem to come from my HDD(but mostlly from my old and overused Intel E2160, which I intend to get rid of soon), so this is something I must try. Unfortunately, I won't have any access to my pc until tuesday, but as soon as I get on it I'll try this and post the results. Thanks for this thread mate. :)

#6
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

Nice post.

For those that do try this please post your feedback.

Thanks.

Yeah guys, please do post your feedback.

Thanks Mistahe :hihi:


Your welcome GID :elephantdance:

I get a crapload of lag spikes and stuttering on my game, which does indeed seem to come from my HDD(but mostlly from my old and overused Intel E2160, which I intend to get rid of soon), so this is something I must try. Unfortunately, I won't have any access to my pc until tuesday, but as soon as I get on it I'll try this and post the results. Thanks for this thread mate. :)

GL with that man. Your also welcome and do please post your experience. Thanks in advance =)

#7
MrKillie01

MrKillie01

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 17-November 12
Hello,

I Did this after i found out there was a way to fix it.
for everyone that can't stop the service, try disabling windows search in the control panel. (this will need a reboot)
(This because of my cousin being unable to ^^)

results:
in-game FPS: from 60FPS to 62FPS
Lag: Gone.

Feedback: This fix is awesome, and it saved my gaming experience :)

Thanks.

Edited by MrKillie01, 25 November 2012 - 01:19 PM.


#8
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

Hello,

I Did this after i found out there was a way to fix it.
for everyone that can't stop the service, try disabling windows search in the control panel. (this will need a reboot)
(This because of my cousin being unable to ^^)

results:
in-game FPS: from 60FPS to 62FPS
Lag: Gone.

Feedback: This fix is awesome, and it saved my gaming experience :)

Thanks.


Another happy customer :D Your welcome man, glad to be of help by sharing it.

P.s.: I updated edited how to exactly disable the windows search service.

#9
640509040147

640509040147

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Joined 21-June 11
If this actually works, it needs to be in a section where there is more exposure or heck even on the launcher. The game's performance gets so bad, its not even funny.

#10
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

If this actually works, it needs to be in a section where there is more exposure or heck even on the launcher. The game's performance gets so bad, its not even funny.


I agree :)

But as you can see, it does work, not only for me, but others are confirming it ^^

+rep for all the feedback and nice responses :D

Greets from an even a more Happy Wappy...

EEEEEEEE :computerbrain:

P.s.: Please do recommend this thread to your friends, if they have problems with Windows Performance. Sharing is caring :)

Edited by MistahE, 25 November 2012 - 02:34 PM.


#11
quatrevert

quatrevert

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 317 posts
  • Joined 08-October 12
I'll try that soon, hope it will work for a laptop too. ^_^

#12
Bleeder91

Bleeder91

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Joined 28-October 11
Tried it, can't say it does a lot but I do feel like it stutters less in Waterfront.

Edited by Bleeder91, 25 November 2012 - 02:56 PM.

fnmod_character_fragile.pngfnmod_character_valzipram.pngfnmod_character_remotedetonator.pngfnmod_consumable_epinephrine.png        icon_smg_aces-rifle_gold.pngfnmod_weapon_extendedbarrel.pngfnmod_weapon_mobilitysling.pngfnmod_weapon_magazinepull3.png        icon_flaregun_gold.pngfnmod_weapon_flare.png        icon_grenade_frag.png        macchinacalabria127.pngfnmod_vehicle_mobilesupplyunit.pngfnmod_vehicle_muffler.pngfnmod_vehicle_explosives3.pngfnmod_vehicle_brick.png


#13
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

I'll try that soon, hope it will work for a laptop too. ^_^

It should work on any computer, but GL in trying =)

Tried it, can't say it does a lot but I do feel like it stutters less in Waterfront.


Do note that it will only severely increase performance, when the service is actually hogging your HD. So I would say, that it only increases performance in a minor fashion when it's running normal. Yet a little less stuttering can be all the difference in a multiplayer shooter.

Also I updated the plan in the OP, so be sure to follow the steps provided correctly in order to prevent the service from restarting itself.

#14
Fatal1ty Pixels

Fatal1ty Pixels

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2140 posts
  • Joined 31-August 11
I tried it and it's better so thx. You my hero now ^_^

#15
Jota CL

Jota CL

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 714 posts
  • Joined 24-April 11
Also works with Windows 8, if you can't afford a SSD this is your solution.

Posted Image

Jota - Colby


#16
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

I tried it and it's better so thx. You my hero now ^_^

Glad to be of service =)

Also works with Windows 8, if you can't afford a SSD this is your solution.

This is great news, thanks for letting us know.

#17
HardcoreSyndrome

HardcoreSyndrome

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts
  • Joined 14-November 12
http://imgur.com/25SvY

Hi, this popped up when I tried to disable indexing for my HDD. How do I solve this?

Also, after I made invisible files visible, there wasn't a windows.edb in my Program Data folder.

Edited by HardcoreSyndrome, 26 November 2012 - 11:46 PM.


#18
MrKillie01

MrKillie01

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 17-November 12
Hmm, still have the shocking after several reboots after doing this.
At first, on my post, i didn't have the shocking, but guess i i didnt test long enough... :(

#19
ItsMeKenegade

ItsMeKenegade

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12
Where do i find that windows explorer pop up and that disable??

#20
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

http://imgur.com/25SvY

Hi, this popped up when I tried to disable indexing for my HDD. How do I solve this?

Also, after I made invisible files visible, there wasn't a windows.edb in my Program Data folder.

Just set to "ignore all" as they are files that are in use/locked by the system and cant be properly de-indexed.

Hmm, still have the shocking after several reboots after doing this.
At first, on my post, i didn't have the shocking, but guess i i didnt test long enough... :(

I'm sorry to hear that, might be wise to check the Source Control with the Task Manager (Press CTRL-SHIFT-ESC) and check every single aspect to see what is going on in your system.

Go to the Performance Tab and click the lower right button that says something like "Source Control". (I'm not sure if these are the approriate names as I"m working with a Dutch version and I'm translating this to my best English).

Check all and see if you can find anything that is hoggin resources, CPU, memory, network or HD.

Edited by MistahE, 27 November 2012 - 12:55 AM.


#21
ItsMeKenegade

ItsMeKenegade

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12
1. Disable the index options of a HD (go to windows explorer, rightclick on the HD and click "properties" and in the pop up, deselect the option saying something like "Allow content and properties to be indexed". I Can't Find this one. i rightclick properties on windows explorer and i dont see anything like the deselect option,

#22
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

...I Can't Find this one. i rightclick properties on windows explorer and i dont see anything like the deselect option,

There should come a pop up with various Tabs, after you right click "Properties" in the context menu of the HD in Windows Explorer.
In the first Tab, there are 2 option selects (like tiny little boxes that you can mark/unmark) at the bottom of the pop up, make sure they are both of, especially the bottom one.

Edited by MistahE, 27 November 2012 - 12:54 AM.


#23
ItsMeKenegade

ItsMeKenegade

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12

There should come a pop up with various Tabs, after you right click "Properties" in the context menu of the HD in Windows Explorer.
In the first Tab, there are 2 option selects (like tiny little boxes that you can mark/unmark) at the bottom of the pop up, make sure they are both of, especially the bottom one.


done it! but i cant find the windows.edb file??

#24
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

done it! but i cant find the windows.edb file??

glad you got it!

Now go to that ProgramData folder on the root of HD where you have windows installed and type in the search bar in the top right corner "windows.edb" (without the " and yes the search option will still work, just slower ^^) and wait and see if it can find it.

#25
ItsMeKenegade

ItsMeKenegade

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12
no results found!! the hell

#26
ItsMeKenegade

ItsMeKenegade

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Joined 18-April 12

glad you got it!

Now go to that ProgramData folder on the root of HD where you have windows installed and type in the search bar in the top right corner "windows.edb" (without the " and yes the search option will still work, just slower ^^) and wait and see if it can find it.

found it, so i delete it like i delete items in the recycle bin???

#27
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

found it, so i delete it like i delete items in the recycle bin???

yup, you could save it somewhere else, but I"m thinking, if you ever decide, for whatever reason, to re-activate the Windows Search service again, it will rewrite that file itself.
However I'm not totally sure. Otherwise you would have to reinstall the O/S, wich is not a bad idea anyway, after every couple of years, especially if you install alot of programs (and uninstall for that matter, as there are always left overs, unless you know where to find them manually) ;D

Anyhow, I hope this all helps your performance in Windows =)

#28
gotitdone

gotitdone

    aka Hoss

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17009 posts
  • Joined 11-June 08
Pinning

The inherent vice of capitalism is the unequal sharing of blessings; the inherent virtue
of socialism is the equal sharing of miseries.- Winston Churchill


admin post tracker
How to submit a ticket
http://ffbans.org/

#29
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

Pinning

Great stuff, ty =)

#30
Fatal1ty Pixels

Fatal1ty Pixels

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2140 posts
  • Joined 31-August 11
Ok i still have stuttering sometimes. Mostly in battles, but not all the time. At first i thought it went away, but today it happend again. Any other suggestions? Stuttering started, when the asylum map was brought into the game. Could it be the Shaders?

#31
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

Ok i still have stuttering sometimes. Mostly in battles, but not all the time. At first i thought it went away, but today it happend again. Any other suggestions? Stuttering started, when the asylum map was brought into the game. Could it be the Shaders?


I'm sorry to say, but I have the stuttering again too... and it did went away, but I think its the freaking update :(

It's still not as bad as it was, but it definatly affects the gameplay. No other suggestions then that G1 has to stop making there game "look more cool" with all that new content and instead fix the damn issues at hand first and then look at what migh be implemented slowly but surely.

I have seen this happen with other games I played in the past... too much content, not enough fixes, destroying the game and gameplay, making me leave.

That said, I'm going back to my others games, wich do run fine btw, even more so after the "Index Fix".

Greets,

E

#32
Fatal1ty Pixels

Fatal1ty Pixels

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2140 posts
  • Joined 31-August 11
Yeah it must be the new update. Well the performance is still better as it was before. Let's hope they are working on this problem, and that will be solved soon

#33
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11
Yeah, let's hope indeed they will fix it soon, don't get me wrong, I still love the game (just as much as I hate it ^^) and I do like new content, just wish they would focus on buying a desert rat for the servers, instead of keeping the hamster (as a desert rat runs faster and can endure the heat better) ;D

#34
LukeG

LukeG

    Novice

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 27-November 12
You sir, are a sir!

This made my PC THREE TIMES as fast.

Honestly so so so much quicker! I'm running an imac 24" with windows 7 on bootcamp btw. Terrible for gaming I know but it's what I have.. Damn you nvidia 9400m!

This helped a ton!

#35
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

You sir, are a sir!

This made my PC THREE TIMES as fast.

Honestly so so so much quicker! I'm running an imac 24" with windows 7 on bootcamp btw. Terrible for gaming I know but it's what I have.. Damn you nvidia 9400m!

This helped a ton!


I'm glad it worked out for you.

Just a qeustion to all of you... Do you have increased stuttering again after the patch? It's not as bad as before the "index fix" but for some reason, asset files of APB itself are now hogging my HD.

Are there more ppl that have this?

Run the game as usual, but after a couple of mins in the game on an instance, press CTRL-SHIFT-ESC, go to the Performance tab and click the lower right button that says something like "Source Control". A new window will appear and there are a couple of sections. Check the HD section and click the "Total bytes/sec" button to see what is hoggin and wich files are doing it.

Please post here if the files are asset files from APB and exceed your HD's read/write limit. Thank you in advance.

UPDATE: It seems like the hotfix of today made it alot better, its still there a little bit, but atleast it's playable and its not mulitple asset files that are hoggin the HD.

Great work G1/RP!

Edited by MistahE, 29 November 2012 - 09:47 PM.


#36
DddyMac13

DddyMac13

    Respected

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 998 posts
  • Joined 05-June 09

I'm glad it worked out for you.

Just a qeustion to all of you... Do you have increased stuttering again after the patch? It's not as bad as before the "index fix" but for some reason, asset files of APB itself are now hogging my HD.

Are there more ppl that have this?

Run the game as usual, but after a couple of mins in the game on an instance, press CTRL-SHIFT-ESC, go to the Performance tab and click the lower right button that says something like "Source Control". A new window will appear and there are a couple of sections. Check the HD section and click the "Total bytes/sec" button to see what is hoggin and wich files are doing it.

Please post here if the files are asset files from APB and exceed your HD's read/write limit. Thank you in advance.

UPDATE: It seems like the hotfix of today made it alot better, its still there a little bit, but atleast it's playable and its not mulitple asset files that are hoggin the HD.

Great work G1/RP!


Still warping some and freezing up but not as bad since the latest patch. I did not try any of your fixes btw. Just reporting since the hot fix on the server last night.

Posted Image

Posted Image


#37
MistahE

MistahE

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Joined 14-December 11

Still warping some and freezing up but not as bad since the latest patch. I did not try any of your fixes btw. Just reporting since the hot fix on the server last night.


Thank you kindly for letting us know.

#38
MrKillie01

MrKillie01

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 17-November 12
Ah yes!

Finally found what was giving me my lag.
I'm a developer and sadly i left my Database servers running :(

Thanks for the fix :)

#39
kkmazsola1

kkmazsola1

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-December 12
i think this is not the place for this kind of problem (for this, sorry), but i have an issue with my crosshair...
in the game it countinuously goign down until it reaches the ground and i cant do anything pls help me

#40
apbr

apbr

    Grunt

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 13-March 11
My gameplay is very choppy. This solution does not fix it :-( any other suggestions? I have a high end gaming pc running other games perfectly.
Die größte, deutschsprachige APB Community: APB Reloaded

Posted Image

Make Your Own APB:Reloaded Signature Here!



3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users