Jump to content

APB Fullscreen vs Windowed for Max Performance?


10 replies to this topic

#1
Spineeater

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3561 posts
  • Joined 02-June 11
Which is better performance for consistently smooth framerate in APB, Fullscreen or Windowed mode?

I multitask so inevitably I find windowed mode a lot more versatile, but I have no idea how the memory/CPU allocation differs between Fullscreen and windowed specifically for APB.

If anyone would know FOR SURE the optimal mode, please let me know.

My specs:
GPU is ATI 4850
CPU is Athlon II X2 240 2.8GHz
RAM 4GB
Widescreen 1366x768 or something in 60hz refresh
Ex-APB player. Currently laughing at APB Vendetta.
Posted Image

#2
Fentz

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 01-June 11
well, I wouldnt go window mode cuz the mouse gets "stuck" from time to time, which is guess is cuz it gets "outside" and then you have to fling around you mouse untill it starts moving again.

so window mode is nothing I'd recommend

altho if you do alot of other stuff and have to alt tab all the time, then do it anyway, the lag that alt-tabbing from APB causing is mind blowing big, takes like 1-2 minutes after alt tabbing for my pc to not stutter anymore, this game is really badly optimized.

Edited by Fentz, 07 June 2011 - 01:46 PM.


#3
MrDanials

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1643 posts
  • Joined 22-December 10
Window works when resolution setting is smaller then monitor screen. Ether way paying smaller resolution that then makes the game look semi pixelated is a better deal then playing windowed.
Posted Image

#4
Kaguya

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1631 posts
  • Joined 04-March 11

View PostFentz, on Jun 7 2011, 11:41 PM, said:

well, I wouldnt go window mode cuz the mouse gets "stuck" from time to time, which is guess is cuz it gets "outside" and then you have to fling around you mouse untill it starts moving again.

so window mode is nothing I'd recommend
Huh? APB captures the mouse, you won't be able to swing your mouse outside the game without pressing HOME for the chat mode, or alt-tabbing yourself.

(*this is with some 500 hours of APB'ing while windowed, I've never had any issues with losing mouse focus)
<a href="http://forums.gamersfirst.com/index.php?showtopic=106583" target="_blank"><img src="http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f163/ubique0/rezlog10.png" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" /></a>
<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->Kaguya - APB's first Car Thief R15.<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> -- <!--coloro:#00FFFF--><span style="color:#00FFFF"><!--/coloro-->Nea - 'forcer<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
<!--coloro:#9932CC--><span style="color:#9932CC"><!--/coloro-->"The horn of the car just went ammunition and we ended up chrashing. (Aimbot taking control?)" -PocketzDK, 2011<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
<!--coloro:#FFFF00--><span style="color:#FFFF00"><!--/coloro-->CPU: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->MOS 6510<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> GPU: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->VIC-II<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> RAM: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->64kB<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> Audio: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->SID 6581<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->

#5
Fentz

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 01-June 11

View PostKaguya, on Jun 7 2011, 09:56 PM, said:

Huh? APB captures the mouse, you won't be able to swing your mouse outside the game without pressing HOME for the chat mode, or alt-tabbing yourself.

(*this is with some 500 hours of APB'ing while windowed, I've never had any issues with losing mouse focus)

is your windowed mode "maxed" so the window takes up everything on the screen except the taskbar?
once it happend I was trying to arrest a guy so i was pressing F and 2 programs at the taskbar started flashing, so I guess my mouse gets down to the taskbar somehow.

maybe by the START button since its above the taskbar, I dunno, don't know doodoo bout that kind of stuff.


anyway, OP, you can just try to see if your FPS gets lower by typing /fps in chat and you'll see whats the best.

#6
Kaguya

    Elite

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1631 posts
  • Joined 04-March 11

View PostFentz, on Jun 8 2011, 12:11 AM, said:

is your windowed mode "maxed" so the window takes up everything on the screen except the taskbar?
once it happend I was trying to arrest a guy so i was pressing F and 2 programs at the taskbar started flashing, so I guess my mouse gets down to the taskbar somehow.

maybe by the START button since its above the taskbar, I dunno, don't know doodoo bout that kind of stuff.
No, it's a 1024x768 window on a 1920x1200 desktop. Can't really handle higher resolutions on my current system, plus ability to have IRC, MSN and browser always on view is A+.
<a href="http://forums.gamersfirst.com/index.php?showtopic=106583" target="_blank"><img src="http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f163/ubique0/rezlog10.png" border="0" class="linked-sig-image" /></a>
<!--coloro:#FF0000--><span style="color:#FF0000"><!--/coloro-->Kaguya - APB's first Car Thief R15.<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> -- <!--coloro:#00FFFF--><span style="color:#00FFFF"><!--/coloro-->Nea - 'forcer<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
<!--coloro:#9932CC--><span style="color:#9932CC"><!--/coloro-->"The horn of the car just went ammunition and we ended up chrashing. (Aimbot taking control?)" -PocketzDK, 2011<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->
<!--coloro:#FFFF00--><span style="color:#FFFF00"><!--/coloro-->CPU: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->MOS 6510<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> GPU: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->VIC-II<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> RAM: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->64kB<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> Audio: <!--coloro:#FF8C00--><span style="color:#FF8C00"><!--/coloro-->SID 6581<!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc--> <!--colorc--></span><!--/colorc-->

#7
Spineeater

    Ascended

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3561 posts
  • Joined 02-June 11

View PostFentz, on Jun 7 2011, 10:11 PM, said:

is your windowed mode "maxed" so the window takes up everything on the screen except the taskbar?
once it happend I was trying to arrest a guy so i was pressing F and 2 programs at the taskbar started flashing, so I guess my mouse gets down to the taskbar somehow.

maybe by the START button since its above the taskbar, I dunno, don't know doodoo bout that kind of stuff.


anyway, OP, you can just try to see if your FPS gets lower by typing /fps in chat and you'll see whats the best.

Yea my window is maxed right now. No more "mouse program switch" issues after that.

Thanks for the tip
Ex-APB player. Currently laughing at APB Vendetta.
Posted Image

#8
Nillas

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 08-June 11
If you wish to get a little bit of extra FPS then use Fullscreen mode since the desktop and things associated with it do not have to be drawn. However, since you like to multitask, Windowed would be the recommend option.

#9
Farami

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 23-April 11

View PostNillas, on Jun 8 2011, 12:05 PM, said:

If you wish to get a little bit of extra FPS then use Fullscreen mode since the desktop and things associated with it do not have to be drawn. However, since you like to multitask, Windowed would be the recommend option.

What he said. Also fullscreen programs tend to get more cpu time assigned to them as far as I know.

Made by Me.

#10
JarOfMay

    Initiate

  • Members
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 07-June 11
It doesn't make any sense for a full-screen application to get more CPU time simply because it is full-screened; it will likely get more in the sense that it has more active & high priority threads and it will instead be assigned the time that would've otherwise been given to window's idle process (System Idle Process) which exists only because the CPU can never be stopped(well it can with hlt instructions but they're only used in power-saving mode).

Graphics cards tend to work better in full screen because they get exclusive access to the graphics card; i.e it doesn't have to share it with other desktop applications. In regards to performance, the game will run better in full screen - as a general statement. Though not by much.

You can force the game to run at lower resolutions than it was designed for by lowering your desktop resolution to 800 by 600 prior to starting the game in windowed mode. The engine will override the configuration to accommodate of the unexpected resolution. This may help you squeeze some performance out of the game, though I think you should know that a lot of the poor performance issues experienced by users when playing APB are due to the games poor managedment of multi-core processors(so I've heard but cannot verify.) and so it is unlikely that it is your video card you are having troubles with.

#11
Jesterr

    Conscript

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Joined 01-April 11

View PostFarami, on Jun 9 2011, 10:16 AM, said:

What he said. Also fullscreen programs tend to get more cpu time assigned to them as far as I know.
Lower resolutions yield more CPU usage as there is less dependence on the GPU. The higher the resolution the more load is put on the GPU.
JUDGEMENT Joker--ENF--Jester




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 GamersFirst.com, Reloaded Games, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.®